“Click It or Ticket” campaign – how do you feel about it?

The Mississippi Highway Patrol, The Vicksburg Police Department, and other cities across Mississippi have embarked upon a “Click It or Ticket” campaign designed to ensure that drivers and their passengers are wearing seat belts. They apparently feel that the threat of a warrant will have a positive enforcement effect. Is the effort a worthy one, or merely an easy way to rack up citations? Should our law enforcement agencies be spending their time on more worthwhile endeavors? Is the seat belt law an infringement upon our liberties? Does the law save lives? How would you react to being given such a citation that might  cost you a hundred dollars or more?

Published in: on May 24, 2008 at 10:37 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://vicksburgspeaks.wordpress.com/2008/05/24/click-it-or-ticket-campaign-how-do-you-feel-about-it/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve heard of countless cases where people who weren’t wearing their seatbelts sustained less devastating injuries. It’s all personal choice and if you buckle up right after they turn the lights on I don’t see how there is any proof you weren’t wearing your seatbelt in the first place. Children should be the only ones required to buckle up after that’s it’s your choice.

  2. I unfortunately have personally been in several wrecks where the seat belt saved me from getting serious and life-threatening injuries. My granmother lost one of her eyes because she WAS NOT WEARING HER SEATBELT and the air bag cut her eye.

    I most definitely agree that children should be required to wear seat belts but shouldn’t they learn from example? To find out whether or not seat belts hinder or help, go talk with nurses in the ER and see what they have to say about it.

    All I know is that I wear mine because I have proof that it helped me.

    If they pull people over for not wearing their seatbelt they are more likely to catch people with bench warrants, DUIs, suspended license and other stuff like that. So I see how it can help from that point of view.

  3. I agree that wearing the belt could help you out that all depends on personal choice and past experiences. But how does a police officer tell if you’re wearing a seat belt or not and what’s to stop you just putting it on before he gets to your window? I’ll do it because it’s a law but I still think it is just another way to get your money.

  4. Frankly, I think it’s a distraction for the police. They need to be looking for real criminals, not the average Joe who, by the way, with food and gasoline at an all-time high, is gonna be darned mad when he’s ticketed for not wearing a seat belt. I think over-zealous enforcement can result in a loss of respect for the law.

  5. I understand how you feel, Malcolm, but one of the ones they ticket might be a life saved.

    I was coming back from Jackson in a rainstorm a couple of years back and my van hydroplaned, turn over twice and landed in a ditch with water 2 feet deep. The windows broke out and I was hanging upside down by my seat belt. Water was pouring into my van. Thank God I was in that seat belt. I could have been bounced around, knocked out and drowned before anyone got to me.
    So, I am an advocate of seat belts. Sure, there are going to be some accidents that people get killed because they were wearing one, but far more people were saved because they were.

    If Click It or Ticket makes more people wear them and abide by the law, it could save their life or lives.

  6. I am all for seatbelts!! My brother-in-law was killed in a car wreck, not wearing his seatbelt. He was thrown out the back window of his Toyota 4-runner as he came up on a stopped 18 wheeler in the dark of the night. Of course, he was going too fast himself, but still, he might have lived had he been in his seatbelt. As I look at my niece & nephew, it breaks my heart to know their daddy will never know their children. So, yes, I am all for Click It or Ticket.


Leave a Reply

